This guide has everything you need to connect your Committee account to a Vendor you are working with on WinRed!
Connecting a Vendor Account to your Committee Account gives that Vendor access to your account. The level of access they have is dependent upon the type of Vendor Account. We explain this in more detail below.
It is important that you proceed with caution and understand that Vendor Connect is an extremely powerful feature with implications for your account access and data. Vendor connections are two-way connections, meaning both parties have to accept and either can terminate it at any time.
Vendor Account Types
Before you get started, make sure you understand what account type the Vendor has. This determines what they can and cannot access in your account.
There are two account types, Full Access (Agency Accounts) and Bill Pay Only (Revvshares). You can read more about them and their access levels here.
Add a New Vendor
At the top of your screen, select Add New Vendor:
Next, enter the Vendor's unique Bill-Pay ID. The Vendor can locate this ID via their Connected Committees tab.
After entering the correct Bill-Pay ID, you will be shown the access the Vendor will receive through the connection. You can read more about Vendor accounts and their access levels here.
Here is a list of what each contains:
Next, you will need to set a Default Percentage Fee. This fee will populate each time this Vendor is added to a page or upsell. It can be changed on an individual basis or at the connection level by either party once the connection is complete. It can be set to 0%.
Finally, in order to send the connection request, you must agree to the Bill-Pay Agreement and click the Create New Bill-Pay button.
This sends a request to the vendor, asking them to approve the connection. You will see the request pending under the Awaiting Approval section until the vendor accepts it. You can send them the instructions linked here on how to accept this request, or you can send an approval link to them by clicking Copy Approval Link. Send them this link, and it will take them to their Connected Committees tab, where they can approve the connection immediately.
When your vendor accepts the connection request, the process is complete!
Under the Connected section in your Vendor tab, you will see this Vendor and any others you are connected to. You can see the date the connection occurred, the default percentage fee, and any activity since the connection.
Approve a Vendor That Wants to Connect to You
Vendors can also initiate the connection process from their accounts. To do this, they need your Bill-Pay ID. This is located in your Vendors tab, on the right side of your screen. Copy that ID and provide it to your Vendor.
When a vendor has requested to connect to your committee, it will appear in your Vendors tab under Received Connections.
Click into the Approval Request to review the type of access they are requesting, the default percentage fee, and accept the Bill Pay Agreement.
Approving the agreement will immediately grant the vendor access to your committee. If you choose to decline the agreement, no access will be granted, and a new request will have to be made by the Vendor to connect to your committee.
Edit the Default Percentage Fee
Either party is able to edit the default percentage fee after the connection has been made.
You can do so by selecting the Edit button next to the default fee on the connection card and entering a new numeric value. These percentages reflect the portion that will be taken off of the gross donation by the Vendor. This value can be 0%-99%.
Upon updating and saving the Default Percentage Fee, the Activity section will update to reflect the change. In addition, it will record who updated it, when they updated it, and what the new Default Fee is.
Disconnect from a Vendor
Either party can choose to disconnect from the other at any time. Upon selecting the Disconnect button on the connection card, you will have to type DISCONNECT in all caps and select the Disconnect button to complete this action.
After selecting the Disconnect button, that connection card will move to the Disconnected section of the Vendors tab.
Once disconnected, it is possible to connect with that same party again by initiating a new connection process.
In this instance, once the parties reinstate their connection, only the activities associated with the new connection will display in the Activity section of the card, and details of the former disconnect activities will not appear.
Within the connection card, all activities associated with the connection will be logged and displayed. Included activities are:
Connection request sent
Connection request accepted
Default Bill-Pay Percentage Fee updates
Each activity log entry includes the individual who performed the action, a summary of the activity, and the date and time on which the activity was completed.
If you have questions or are unsure on any of these steps, please reach out to our support team by clicking the red chat box at the bottom right corner of your screen.