This guide has everything you need to connect your Vendor account to a Committee you are working with on WinRed!
Connecting your Vendor Account to a Committee Account gives you access to their account or data. The level of access they have depends upon the vendor account type. We explain this in more detail below.
Vendor connections are two-way connections, meaning both parties have to accept and either can terminate it at any time.
Table of Contents:
Vendor Account Access
Vendor Account Access
Before you get started, make sure you understand what level of access your Vendor Account has. This determines what you can and cannot access in your client's account.
There are two account types, the access level you have is dependent on whether your vendor account is Full Access (Agency) or Bill-Pay Only (Revvshare). You can read more about the types of vendor accounts and their access levels here. If you need help determining what type of vendor account you have, please reach out to the WinRed support team (click on the red chat bot in the right hand corner) for assistance!
Add a New Committee
Go to your Settings and click the Connected Committees tab to connect to a Committee.
From there, select Add New Committee:
Next, you will need to enter the Bill-Pay ID of the organization to whom you wish to connect. The committee can find their Bill-Pay ID via the Vendors tab within the main Settings tab.
Send them this link for easy access: portal.winred.com/settings#vendors
After entering the correct Bill-Pay ID, you will be shown the access the Vendor will receive through the connection.
You can read more about Vendor accounts and their access levels here.
Here is a list of what each contains:
Next, you will need to set a Default Percentage Fee. This fee will populate each time your Vendor is added to a page or upsell. It can be changed on an individual basis or at the connection level by either party once the connection is complete. It cannot be left blank but can be set to zero.
Finally, in order to send the connection request, you must agree to the Bill-Pay Agreement and click the Create New Bill-Pay button.
This will create an approval request in the committee's account. Your client will need to approve the connection before you can access their client account. You can provide them a link to these instructions here to do so.
You can also send a direct approval link to them by clicking the Copy Approval Link. This will take them to their Vendors tab, where they can approve the connection immediately.
Connection requests that still need to be Approved or Declined by the receiving committee will be listed under the Awaiting Approval section.
You can select the Cancel Request button if you'd like to cancel any sent connection request. This will allow you to rescind the connection request. You will be asked to confirm this action by selecting the red Cancel Request button.
Once the connection has been accepted by the committee it will appear in the Connected section of the Connected Committees tab.
Each vendor-to-committee connection will create a Connection Card. Here you will be able to see the date the connection was created, the default percentage fee, and any activity that has occurred since the connection.
Approve a Committee that Wants to Connect to You
In order for a committee to connect your account, they will need your Bill Pay ID. This ID can be found under your Connected Committees tab, on the right-hand side of your screen.
When a committee has requested to connect to your vendor account, it will appear in your Connected Committees tab under Received Connections.
Click on the approval request by clicking the Approve or Decline button and then you can review the type of access they are requesting, the default percentage fee, and accept the Bill Pay Agreement.
Accepting the agreement will immediately grant your vendor account access to the committee. If you choose to decline the agreement, no access will be granted, and a new request will have to be made to connect to the committee.
Edit the Default Percentage Fee
Either party is able to edit the default percentage fee after the connection has been made.
You can do so by clicking into the default percentage fee box in the connection card and entering a new numeric value. These percentages reflect the portion that will be taken off of the gross donation by the Vendor. This value cannot be blank but can be set to 0%.
Upon updating and saving the Default Percentage Fee, the Activity section will update to reflect the change. In addition, it will record who updated it, when they updated it, and what the new Default Fee is.
This value will not update retroactively across your account. Any existing pages with the previous default fee will need to be manually updated. Any duplicated pages with the previous fee associated will also need to be manually updated to reflect the new fee.
Disconnect from a Committee
Either party can choose to disconnect from the other connected party at any time. Upon selecting the Disconnect button on the connection card, you will have to type DISCONNECT in all caps and select the Disconnect button to complete this action.
After selecting the Disconnect button, the connection will move to the Disconnected section of the Connected Committees tab.
Once disconnected, it is possible to reconnect with that same party by initiating a new connection process.
In this instance, once the connection is reinstated, only the activities associated with the new connection will display in the Activity section of the card. Any details from the former connection will not appear.
All activities associated with the connection will be logged and displayed within the Connection Card. Included activities are:
Connection request sent
Connection request accepted
Default Bill-Pay Percentage Fee updates
Each activity log entry includes the individual who performed the action, a summary of the activity, and the date+time at which the activity was completed.
If you have questions or are unsure about any of these steps, please reach out to our support team by clicking the red chat box at the bottom right corner of your screen.